Weekly Seismicity Report For October 1, 2018 to October 7, 2018

During the week of October 1, 2018, the Alaska Earthquake Center reported 963 earthquakes within the state. The largest earthquake was magnitude 4.8 that occurred on October 3 at 04:12:57.216 UTC (October 2, 20:12:57.216 AKDT), 14 miles NE of Nikolski. Three events were felt.

Notable Events in Descending Order of Magnitude


October 3 at 04:12:57.216 UTC (October 2, 20:12:57.216 AKDT), Ml 4.8, 53.06N -168.60W, depth=74.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS. It was felt in Nikolski.
This earthquake was:
14 miles ( 23 km) NE of Nikolski
102 miles (164 km) WSW of Unalaska
103 miles (166 km) WSW of Dutch Harbor
138 miles (222 km) WSW of Akutan

October 1 at 00:58:24.955 UTC (September 30, 16:58:24.955 AKDT), Ml 4.2, 69.21N -146.32W, depth=7.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in NORTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
57 miles ( 92 km) ESE of Pump Station #2
67 miles (108 km) ENE of Pump Station #3
78 miles (125 km) NNW of Arctic Village
84 miles (136 km) SE of Deadhorse

October 7 at 09:25:54.746 UTC (October 7, 01:25:54.746 AKDT), Ml 4.0, 61.32N -147.38W, depth=20.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in SOUTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
37 miles ( 60 km) WNW of Valdez
40 miles ( 64 km) NW of Tatitlek
56 miles ( 91 km) ESE of Sutton
57 miles ( 92 km) W of Thompson Pass

October 4 at 13:12:56.397 UTC (October 4, 05:12:56.397 AKDT), Ml 4.0, 69.41N -144.15W, depth=4.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in NORTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
51 miles ( 82 km) SSW of Kaktovik
96 miles (154 km) NNE of Arctic Village
107 miles (172 km) E of Pump Station #2
115 miles (185 km) ESE of Deadhorse

October 3 at 03:29:37.544 UTC (October 2, 19:29:37.544 AKDT), Ml 3.9, 64.90N -148.92W, depth=19.7 km:
A light earthquake was located in CENTRAL ALASKA. It was felt in Nenana and as far as Fairbanks.
This earthquake was:
21 miles ( 34 km) SE of Minto
24 miles ( 39 km) NNE of Nenana
27 miles ( 43 km) W of Ester
34 miles ( 55 km) SSW of Pump Station #7

October 3 at 17:13:55.124 UTC (October 3, 09:13:55.124 AKDT), Ml 3.8, 56.24N -148.66W, depth=9.2 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
177 miles (285 km) SE of Kodiak
185 miles (298 km) SE of Ouzinkie
188 miles (303 km) ESE of Old Harbor
194 miles (313 km) ESE of Port Lions

October 1 at 19:45:31.351 UTC (October 1, 11:45:31.351 AKDT), Ml 3.7, 61.32N -147.40W, depth=18.1 km:
A minor earthquake was located in SOUTHERN ALASKA. It was felt in greater Anchorage area.
This earthquake was:
37 miles ( 60 km) WNW of Valdez
40 miles ( 64 km) NW of Tatitlek
56 miles ( 90 km) ESE of Sutton
57 miles ( 92 km) NE of Whittier

October 4 at 14:03:28.203 UTC (October 4, 06:03:28.203 AKDT), Ml 3.7, 54.89N -158.22W, depth=20.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in SOUTH OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
79 miles (128 km) SSE of Perryville
95 miles (153 km) ESE of Sand Point
97 miles (157 km) S of Chignik
102 miles (164 km) S of Chignik Lagoon

October 4 at 12:44:47.614 UTC (October 4, 04:44:47.614 AKDT), Ml 3.7, 65.59N -166.75W, depth=9.8 km:
A minor earthquake was located in NORTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
19 miles ( 31 km) NNW of Brevig Mission
25 miles ( 41 km) NNW of Teller
38 miles ( 61 km) E of Wales
50 miles ( 80 km) SSW of Shishmaref

October 4 at 07:47:03.376 UTC (October 3, 23:47:03.376 AKDT), Ml 3.6, 51.47N -173.29W, depth=12.8 km:
A minor earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
63 miles (102 km) SE of Atka
82 miles (132 km) SW of Amukta Pass
147 miles (236 km) E of Adak
213 miles (343 km) WSW of Nikolski

October 3 at 17:50:23.693 UTC (October 3, 09:50:23.693 AKDT), Ml 3.6, 69.58N -144.94W, depth=13.5 km:
A minor earthquake was located in NORTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
49 miles ( 79 km) SW of Kaktovik
88 miles (142 km) E of Pump Station #2
93 miles (149 km) ESE of Deadhorse
93 miles (150 km) ESE of Prudhoe Bay

October 3 at 12:03:22.511 UTC (October 3, 04:03:22.511 AKDT), Ml 3.6, 56.21N -149.93W, depth=10.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
143 miles (231 km) SE of Kodiak
145 miles (233 km) ESE of Old Harbor
153 miles (246 km) SE of Ouzinkie
159 miles (256 km) SE of Port Lions

October 2 at 20:20:31.214 UTC (October 2, 12:20:31.214 AKDT), Ml 3.5, 61.86N -157.72W, depth=18.5 km:
A minor earthquake was located in SOUTHERN ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
15 miles ( 24 km) WNW of Red Devil
21 miles ( 34 km) WNW of Sleetmute
42 miles ( 68 km) SSE of Flat
53 miles ( 86 km) ENE of Chuathbaluk

This report was compiled by N.Kozyreva

The data in this report are preliminary and subject to revision. The earthquake parameters have been determined by AEC, with supplemental data provided by the USGS National Earthquake Information Center. The data are released on the condition that none of the cooperating agencies may be held liable for any damages resulting from its authorized or unauthorized use.

For more information on earthquakes and seismology, contact the AEC at (907)-474-7320.