Land Use Partners

One of the foundations of the Alaska Earthquake Center’s work is the network of monitoring stations that span the state. This network relies on a wide array of land use agreements and local partners. Participants include state and federal agencies, tribal organizations, local and regional Native corporations, city governments, schools, libraries, and private individuals. Their generous participation is what allows the Earthquake Center to serve Alaska’s communities.

Keeping our stations functioning in Alaska’s extreme conditions often requires maintenance visits to remote locations. Our permit partners sometimes assist with on-site assessment or equipment repair, helping keep the network running.

Native Corporations and Village Councils

Regional Corporations

Arctic Slope Regional Corporation
Calista Corporation
Doyon, Limited
NANA Regional Corporation, Inc.

Village Corporations and Councils

Atxam Corporation
Bethel Native Corporation
Dot Lake
Eyak Corporation
Minto Village Council
Native Village of Nikolski
Native Village of Venetie Tribal Government
Nunamiut Corporation
Sea Lion Corporation
Sitnasuak Native Corporation
St. George Tanaq Corporation
Tanadgusix Corporation
Tanana Tribal Council

Local governments


Fairbanks North Star Borough
Matanuska-Susitna Borough
Municipality of Anchorage
North Slope Borough


City of False Pass
City of Galena
City of Gambell
City of Nikolski
City of Seward
City of Unalaska
Lake Minchumina

State Agencies

Alaska Department of Natural Resources (Northern, Southcentral, Southeast offices)
Alaska Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation

State Parks

Kachemak Bay State Park

Federal Agencies

Bureau of Land Management (5 different offices: Fairbanks, Anchorage, Glennallen, Yukon, National Petroleum Reserve - Alaska)
Federal Aviation Administration
National Park Service
USDA Forest Service
US Army Corps of Engineers
US Air Force
US Coast Guard
US Fish and Wildlife Service
US Geological Survey Alaska Volcano Observatory

National Forests, Parks, and Refuges

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Innoko National Wildlife Refuge
Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge
Yukon Flats National Wildlife Refuge

National Park Service

Denali National Park and Preserve
Glacier Bay
Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve
Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve

USDA Forest Service

Chugach National Forest
Tongass National Forest

Private landowners

22+ sites

Special Projects or Partner Sites

Alaska Gasline Development Corporation
Alaska Public Safety Communication Services
Alyeska Pipeline Service Company
Bradley Lake Hydroelectric Project/Alaska Energy Authority
EarthScope Consortium
National Tsunami Warning Center
University of Alaska Geophysical Institute