Weekly Seismicity Report For January 29, 2018 to February 4, 2018

During the week of January 29, 2018, the Alaska Earthquake Center reported 956 earthquakes within the state. The largest earthquake was magnitude 5.0 that occurred on January 31 at 20:01:51.297 UTC (January 31, 11:01:51.297 AKST), 155 miles SE of Kodiak. One events was felt.

Notable Events in Descending Order of Magnitude


January 31 at 20:01:51.297 UTC (January 31, 11:01:51.297 AKST), Ml 5.0, 56.49N -149.05W, depth=11.4 km:
A moderate earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
155 miles (249 km) SE of Kodiak
163 miles (262 km) SE of Ouzinkie
168 miles (271 km) ESE of Old Harbor
172 miles (277 km) ESE of Port Lions

January 30 at 11:49:27.342 UTC (January 30, 02:49:27.342 AKST), Ml 4.7, 51.54N -176.10W, depth=23.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
33 miles ( 53 km) SE of Adak
93 miles (149 km) WSW of Atka
183 miles (295 km) WSW of Amukta Pass
211 miles (339 km) E of Amchitka

January 29 at 00:38:51.350 UTC (January 28, 15:38:51.350 AKST), Ml 4.5, 55.89N -149.21W, depth=11.4 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
178 miles (286 km) SE of Kodiak
180 miles (290 km) ESE of Old Harbor
187 miles (301 km) SE of Ouzinkie
194 miles (313 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 21:15:24.674 UTC (February 1, 12:15:24.674 AKST), Ml 4.3, 55.88N -149.96W, depth=11.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
157 miles (252 km) SE of Old Harbor
161 miles (259 km) SE of Kodiak
171 miles (274 km) SE of Ouzinkie
176 miles (283 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 06:23:00.954 UTC (January 28, 21:23:00.954 AKST), Ml 4.3, 56.50N -148.95W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
157 miles (252 km) ESE of Kodiak
165 miles (266 km) SE of Ouzinkie
171 miles (276 km) ESE of Old Harbor
175 miles (281 km) ESE of Port Lions

February 4 at 08:23:48.481 UTC (February 3, 23:23:48.481 AKST), Ml 4.2, 51.00N 178.86W, depth=18.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in RAT ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
37 miles ( 60 km) S of Amchitka
156 miles (251 km) SE of Buldir Is
203 miles (326 km) WSW of Adak
234 miles (377 km) ESE of Shemya

January 30 at 04:09:37.976 UTC (January 29, 19:09:37.976 AKST), Ml 4.1, 56.10N -149.71W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
155 miles (249 km) SE of Kodiak
156 miles (251 km) ESE of Old Harbor
164 miles (264 km) SE of Ouzinkie
171 miles (275 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 16:35:28.457 UTC (February 3, 07:35:28.457 AKST), Ml 4.1, 56.27N -149.29W, depth=2.7 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
157 miles (253 km) SE of Kodiak
165 miles (266 km) ESE of Old Harbor
166 miles (267 km) SE of Ouzinkie
174 miles (280 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 18:18:42.083 UTC (February 1, 09:18:42.083 AKST), Ml 4.1, 55.64N -149.12W, depth=11.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
193 miles (310 km) ESE of Old Harbor
194 miles (311 km) SE of Kodiak
203 miles (326 km) SE of Ouzinkie
209 miles (337 km) SE of Port Lions

February 4 at 01:18:08.229 UTC (February 3, 16:18:08.229 AKST), Ml 4.1, 51.69N -175.24W, depth=25.7 km:
A light earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
56 miles ( 90 km) SW of Atka
62 miles (100 km) E of Adak
145 miles (233 km) WSW of Amukta Pass
248 miles (398 km) E of Amchitka

February 1 at 12:23:28.765 UTC (February 1, 03:23:28.765 AKST), Ml 4.1, 56.09N -149.15W, depth=10.0 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
170 miles (273 km) SE of Kodiak
175 miles (282 km) ESE of Old Harbor
179 miles (287 km) SE of Ouzinkie
186 miles (300 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 12:09:19.316 UTC (February 1, 03:09:19.316 AKST), Ml 4.0, 56.47N -148.56W, depth=12.0 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
171 miles (274 km) ESE of Kodiak
178 miles (287 km) ESE of Ouzinkie
186 miles (300 km) ESE of Old Harbor
188 miles (303 km) ESE of Port Lions

January 31 at 18:02:30.920 UTC (January 31, 09:02:30.920 AKST), Ml 4.0, 56.17N -149.77W, depth=11.8 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
150 miles (241 km) SE of Kodiak
152 miles (244 km) ESE of Old Harbor
159 miles (256 km) SE of Ouzinkie
166 miles (267 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 19:05:06.508 UTC (January 29, 10:05:06.508 AKST), Ml 4.0, 55.67N -149.19W, depth=0.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
189 miles (304 km) ESE of Old Harbor
190 miles (306 km) SE of Kodiak
199 miles (321 km) SE of Ouzinkie
206 miles (331 km) SE of Port Lions

January 30 at 23:12:57.928 UTC (January 30, 14:12:57.928 AKST), Ml 4.0, 56.49N -148.64W, depth=10.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
167 miles (269 km) ESE of Kodiak
175 miles (281 km) ESE of Ouzinkie
183 miles (294 km) ESE of Old Harbor
185 miles (297 km) ESE of Port Lions

January 29 at 05:01:15.400 UTC (January 28, 20:01:15.400 AKST), Ml 3.9, 54.45N -162.67W, depth=59.5 km:
A light earthquake was located in ALASKA PENINSULA.
This earthquake was:
41 miles ( 65 km) SE of False Pass
44 miles ( 72 km) SSW of King Cove
51 miles ( 82 km) S of Cold Bay
106 miles (171 km) SW of Sand Point

January 30 at 07:35:37.024 UTC (January 29, 22:35:37.024 AKST), Ml 3.9, 51.53N 175.51W, depth=9.6 km:
A light earthquake was located in RAT ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
60 miles ( 96 km) SSW of Buldir Is
101 miles (162 km) SE of Shemya
137 miles (220 km) SE of Attu
150 miles (242 km) W of Amchitka

February 1 at 10:09:44.352 UTC (February 1, 01:09:44.352 AKST), Ml 3.9, 56.00N -149.72W, depth=4.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
160 miles (257 km) ESE of Old Harbor
160 miles (257 km) SE of Kodiak
169 miles (273 km) SE of Ouzinkie
176 miles (283 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 07:15:25.620 UTC (January 31, 22:15:25.620 AKST), Ml 3.9, 55.86N -150.15W, depth=10.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
152 miles (244 km) SE of Old Harbor
158 miles (254 km) SSE of Kodiak
168 miles (270 km) SSE of Ouzinkie
171 miles (276 km) ESE of Akhiok

January 29 at 06:59:52.023 UTC (January 28, 21:59:52.023 AKST), Ml 3.9, 55.55N -148.98W, depth=8.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
201 miles (323 km) ESE of Old Harbor
202 miles (325 km) SE of Kodiak
211 miles (340 km) SE of Ouzinkie
218 miles (351 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 03:48:11.525 UTC (January 28, 18:48:11.525 AKST), Ml 3.9, 56.07N -149.60W, depth=11.2 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
159 miles (256 km) SE of Kodiak
161 miles (259 km) ESE of Old Harbor
168 miles (271 km) SE of Ouzinkie
175 miles (282 km) SE of Port Lions

January 30 at 10:07:50.108 UTC (January 30, 01:07:50.108 AKST), Ml 3.9, 56.14N -149.22W, depth=9.4 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
165 miles (266 km) SE of Kodiak
171 miles (276 km) ESE of Old Harbor
174 miles (280 km) SE of Ouzinkie
182 miles (293 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 15:18:27.609 UTC (January 29, 06:18:27.609 AKST), Ml 3.9, 52.13N -168.43W, depth=9.1 km:
A minor earthquake was located in FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
58 miles ( 94 km) SSE of Nikolski
144 miles (231 km) SW of Unalaska
145 miles (233 km) SW of Dutch Harbor
152 miles (244 km) E of Amukta Pass

January 29 at 13:38:35.700 UTC (January 29, 04:38:35.700 AKST), Ml 3.9, 55.98N -150.12W, depth=10.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
148 miles (238 km) ESE of Old Harbor
152 miles (244 km) SE of Kodiak
162 miles (260 km) SE of Ouzinkie
167 miles (269 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 12:42:38.348 UTC (January 29, 03:42:38.348 AKST), Ml 3.8, 56.08N -149.75W, depth=10.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
155 miles (249 km) SE of Kodiak
156 miles (251 km) ESE of Old Harbor
164 miles (264 km) SE of Ouzinkie
171 miles (275 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 09:13:40.852 UTC (February 3, 00:13:40.852 AKST), Ml 3.8, 56.01N -149.76W, depth=10.1 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
158 miles (254 km) ESE of Old Harbor
158 miles (255 km) SE of Kodiak
168 miles (270 km) SE of Ouzinkie
174 miles (280 km) SE of Port Lions

January 30 at 22:57:21.713 UTC (January 30, 13:57:21.713 AKST), Ml 3.8, 55.63N -149.21W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
191 miles (307 km) ESE of Old Harbor
192 miles (309 km) SE of Kodiak
202 miles (324 km) SE of Ouzinkie
208 miles (335 km) SE of Port Lions

February 4 at 18:06:59.656 UTC (February 4, 09:06:59.656 AKST), Ml 3.7, 53.32N -164.11W, depth=19.3 km:
A minor earthquake was located in UNIMAK ISLAND REGION, ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
88 miles (142 km) SE of Akutan
106 miles (171 km) ESE of Dutch Harbor
106 miles (171 km) ESE of Unalaska
110 miles (177 km) SSW of False Pass

February 1 at 09:31:38.356 UTC (February 1, 00:31:38.356 AKST), Ml 3.7, 52.13N -171.11W, depth=21.6 km:
A minor earthquake was located in FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
41 miles ( 66 km) ESE of Amukta Pass
109 miles (176 km) WSW of Nikolski
131 miles (211 km) E of Atka
225 miles (362 km) WSW of Unalaska

January 30 at 19:01:16.763 UTC (January 30, 10:01:16.763 AKST), Ml 3.7, 55.72N -149.17W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
188 miles (303 km) ESE of Old Harbor
188 miles (303 km) SE of Kodiak
198 miles (318 km) SE of Ouzinkie
204 miles (329 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 12:25:50.939 UTC (February 1, 03:25:50.939 AKST), Ml 3.7, 56.15N -149.27W, depth=46.9 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
163 miles (263 km) SE of Kodiak
169 miles (272 km) ESE of Old Harbor
172 miles (277 km) SE of Ouzinkie
180 miles (290 km) SE of Port Lions

January 31 at 14:45:32.904 UTC (January 31, 05:45:32.904 AKST), Ml 3.7, 52.20N 179.83W, depth=260.3 km:
A minor earthquake was located in RAT ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
58 miles ( 94 km) NE of Amchitka
151 miles (243 km) W of Adak
165 miles (266 km) E of Buldir Is
243 miles (391 km) E of Shemya

February 3 at 17:53:43.164 UTC (February 3, 08:53:43.164 AKST), Ml 3.7, 55.90N -150.06W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
153 miles (246 km) SE of Old Harbor
158 miles (254 km) SE of Kodiak
167 miles (269 km) SE of Ouzinkie
173 miles (278 km) SE of Port Lions

February 4 at 15:27:10.504 UTC (February 4, 06:27:10.504 AKST), Ml 3.6, 62.79N -151.89W, depth=13.5 km:
A minor earthquake was located in CENTRAL ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
58 miles ( 94 km) SSW of Kantishna
60 miles ( 96 km) SE of Telida
62 miles (100 km) NNW of Skwentna
65 miles (105 km) WNW of Talkeetna

February 1 at 10:26:39.916 UTC (February 1, 01:26:39.916 AKST), Ml 3.6, 55.94N -149.80W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
159 miles (256 km) ESE of Old Harbor
161 miles (259 km) SE of Kodiak
170 miles (274 km) SE of Ouzinkie
176 miles (284 km) SE of Port Lions

February 4 at 04:00:33.611 UTC (February 3, 19:00:33.611 AKST), Ml 3.6, 56.38N -148.52W, depth=5.4 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
175 miles (282 km) ESE of Kodiak
183 miles (295 km) SE of Ouzinkie
190 miles (305 km) ESE of Old Harbor
193 miles (311 km) ESE of Port Lions

February 4 at 00:06:57.457 UTC (February 3, 15:06:57.457 AKST), Ml 3.6, 56.21N -149.33W, depth=11.9 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
159 miles (255 km) SE of Kodiak
165 miles (266 km) ESE of Old Harbor
168 miles (270 km) SE of Ouzinkie
175 miles (282 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 05:49:09.638 UTC (January 28, 20:49:09.638 AKST), Ml 3.6, 56.14N -149.24W, depth=6.8 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
165 miles (266 km) SE of Kodiak
171 miles (275 km) ESE of Old Harbor
174 miles (280 km) SE of Ouzinkie
182 miles (292 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 13:40:27.741 UTC (February 1, 04:40:27.741 AKST), Ml 3.6, 61.19N -139.82W, depth=5.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in SOUTHERN YUKON TERRITORY, CANADA.
This earthquake was:
28 miles ( 44 km) W of Burwash Landing
83 miles (133 km) WNW of Haines Junction
101 miles (163 km) SE of Chisana
104 miles (168 km) E of McCarthy

January 31 at 09:18:59.447 UTC (January 31, 00:18:59.447 AKST), Ml 3.6, 56.11N -149.77W, depth=11.9 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
153 miles (246 km) SE of Kodiak
154 miles (248 km) ESE of Old Harbor
162 miles (261 km) SE of Ouzinkie
169 miles (272 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 08:16:47.939 UTC (January 28, 23:16:47.939 AKST), Ml 3.6, 55.94N -150.15W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
148 miles (239 km) SE of Old Harbor
154 miles (247 km) SE of Kodiak
163 miles (263 km) SE of Ouzinkie
168 miles (271 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 21:42:15.133 UTC (February 3, 12:42:15.133 AKST), Ml 3.6, 55.96N -149.90W, depth=12.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
155 miles (250 km) ESE of Old Harbor
158 miles (254 km) SE of Kodiak
167 miles (269 km) SE of Ouzinkie
173 miles (278 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 03:06:47.211 UTC (January 28, 18:06:47.211 AKST), Ml 3.6, 56.03N -150.27W, depth=10.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
141 miles (227 km) SE of Old Harbor
146 miles (235 km) SE of Kodiak
156 miles (250 km) SSE of Ouzinkie
161 miles (259 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 17:26:37.186 UTC (February 3, 08:26:37.186 AKST), Ml 3.5, 56.33N -149.25W, depth=5.8 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
155 miles (250 km) SE of Kodiak
164 miles (264 km) SE of Ouzinkie
165 miles (265 km) ESE of Old Harbor
172 miles (278 km) SE of Port Lions

February 1 at 16:38:34.585 UTC (February 1, 07:38:34.585 AKST), Ml 3.5, 55.63N -149.02W, depth=10.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
196 miles (316 km) ESE of Old Harbor
197 miles (317 km) SE of Kodiak
206 miles (331 km) SE of Ouzinkie
213 miles (342 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 16:30:18.925 UTC (February 3, 07:30:18.925 AKST), Ml 3.5, 56.22N -149.34W, depth=3.8 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
158 miles (254 km) SE of Kodiak
165 miles (265 km) ESE of Old Harbor
167 miles (269 km) SE of Ouzinkie
175 miles (281 km) SE of Port Lions

February 3 at 07:12:25.619 UTC (February 2, 22:12:25.619 AKST), Ml 3.5, 56.20N -149.57W, depth=2.5 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
153 miles (246 km) SE of Kodiak
157 miles (253 km) ESE of Old Harbor
162 miles (260 km) SE of Ouzinkie
169 miles (272 km) SE of Port Lions

February 2 at 14:52:58.183 UTC (February 2, 05:52:58.183 AKST), Ml 3.5, 56.35N -148.69W, depth=11.5 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
171 miles (276 km) SE of Kodiak
180 miles (289 km) SE of Ouzinkie
184 miles (297 km) ESE of Old Harbor
189 miles (304 km) ESE of Port Lions

February 1 at 07:17:15.329 UTC (January 31, 22:17:15.329 AKST), Ml 3.5, 56.83N -152.57W, depth=13.1 km:
A minor earthquake was located in KODIAK ISLAND REGION, ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
38 miles ( 61 km) SE of Old Harbor
61 miles ( 98 km) E of Akhiok
66 miles (107 km) S of Kodiak
72 miles (115 km) SE of Larsen Bay

February 3 at 01:42:01.735 UTC (February 2, 16:42:01.735 AKST), Ml 3.5, 55.88N -149.30W, depth=7.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
177 miles (284 km) SE of Kodiak
178 miles (286 km) ESE of Old Harbor
186 miles (299 km) SE of Ouzinkie
193 miles (310 km) SE of Port Lions

January 29 at 19:02:37.703 UTC (January 29, 10:02:37.703 AKST), Ml 3.5, 55.84N -150.36W, depth=7.0 km:
A minor earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
147 miles (236 km) SE of Old Harbor
155 miles (250 km) SSE of Kodiak
165 miles (265 km) ESE of Akhiok
165 miles (266 km) SSE of Ouzinkie

February 04 at 03:13:39 UTC (February 3, 06:13 PM AKST), Ml 3.5, 60.75N -149.9W, depth=38 km:
A minor earthquake was located in the Kenai Peninsula region of Alaska.
It was felt in Anchorage.
This earthquake was:
16 miles (26 km) SW of Hope
17 miles (28 km) NNW of Cooper Landing
26 miles (42 km) NW of Moose Pass
30 miles (48 km) WSW of Girdwood

This report was compiled by N.Kozyreva.

The data in this report are preliminary and subject to revision. The earthquake parameters have been determined by AEC, with supplemental data provided by the USGS National Earthquake Information Center. The data are released on the condition that none of the cooperating agencies may be held liable for any damages resulting from its authorized or unauthorized use.

For more information on earthquakes and seismology, contact the AEC at (907)-474-7320.