Staff and Faculty

We are scientists, engineers, data analysts, field technicians and educators with a shared passion for working in the evolving geology of Alaska. We are motivated by the reality that some of the great tragedies of our time are caused by earthquakes, as well as the knowledge that earthquakes are a powerful tool for understanding our landscape and the resources it contains.

Michael West
State Seismologist
Natalia Ruppert
Matt Gardine
Operations Seismologist
Heather McFarlin
Data Specialist
Lea Gardine
Seismologist/ Outreach
Dmitry Nicolsky
Tsunami Modeler
Nate Murphy
Seismic Network Technician
Samantha Wiser
Executive Assistant
Beth Grassi
Science Communications Specialist
Ezgi Karasozen
Alexandra Farrell
Jackie Smale
Field Technician
Stephen Holtkamp
Product Analyst
Shila Cotton
Seismic Data Analyst
Richard Ranft
Seismic Data Analyst
Michael Place
Field Engineer
Natalia Kozyreva
Lead Seismic Data Analyst
Mike Reynolds
Logistic Coordinator
Mitch Robinson
System Administrator
Oliver Wood
Web Administrator
Kenneth Becker
Seismic Data Analyst
Elena Suleimani
Tsunami Modeler


Gabrielle Davy
Undergraduate Geoscience Student
Alex Fozkos
Geophysics Research Student
Nicholas Alexeev
Computer Science Undergrad
Sebin John
PhD Geophysics Student