We are scientists, engineers, data analysts, field technicians and educators with a shared passion for working in the evolving geology of Alaska. We are motivated by the reality that some of the great tragedies of our time are caused by earthquakes, as well as the knowledge that earthquakes are a powerful tool for understanding our landscape and the resources it contains.



Michael West
State Seismologist
Matt Mohler
Director of Operations
Natalia Ruppert
Senior Scientist
Heather McFarlin
Seismic Data Manager
Elisabeth Nadin
Communications Manager
Samantha Wiser
Program Coordinator
Carolyn Parcheta
Field Operations Manager
Alexandra Farrell
Systems Manager
Nate Murphy
Field Network Manager
Ayumi Bakken
Seismic Data Analyst
Shah Khan
Seismic Data Analyst
Gabe Paris
Luke Underwood
Joanne Heslop
Field Engineer
Ethan Berkeland
Field Engineer
Nicholas Alexeev
Web Developer
Dmitry Nicolsky
Tsunami Modeler
Natalia Kozyreva
Lead Seismic Data Analyst
Hank the Tank
Seismic Station Strength Specialist
Elena Suleimani
Tsunami Modeler
Stephen Holtkamp
Product Analyst
Michael Place
Field Engineer
Beth Grassi
Science Communications Specialist
Ezgi Karasozen
Research Seismologist
Oliver Wood
Web Administrator
Gabriel Low
K-12 Outreach Specialist


Sebin John
PhD Geophysics Student
Alex Fozkos
Geophysics Research Student
Gabrielle Davy
Graduate Geophysics Student
Sarah Noel
PhD Geophysics Student