Monthly Seismicity Report For March 1, 2018 to March 31, 2018

During March 2018, the Alaska Earthquake Center located 4,219 earthquakes within the state. Of these, 28 were larger than or equal to magnitude 4.0. 5 events were felt. The largest earthquake located in Alaska this month was a moderate earthquake of magnitude 5.1 that occurred on March 9 at 07:32:37.071 UTC (March 8, 22:32:37.071 AKST), 34 miles east of Pedro Bay.

Notable Events in Descending Order of Magnitude

March 9 at 07:32:37.071 UTC (March 8, 22:32:37.071 AKST), Ml 5.1, 59.75N -153.13W, depth=100.2 km:
A moderate earthquake was located in SOUTHERN ALASKA. It was felt across the Kenai Peninsula and the Greater Anchorage Area.
This earthquake was:
34 miles ( 55 km) E of Pedro Bay
45 miles ( 73 km) W of Anchor Point
50 miles ( 81 km) NW of Nanwalek

March 27 at 22:41:12.624 UTC (March 27, 14:41:12.624 AKDT), Ml 5.1, 56.45N -148.56W, depth=11.6 km:
A moderate earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
171 miles (275 km) ESE of Kodiak
179 miles (288 km) ESE of Ouzinkie
186 miles (300 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 2 at 21:44:53.041 UTC (March 2, 12:44:53.041 AKST), Ml 5.0, 51.79N 178.65W, depth=93.8 km:
A moderate earthquake was located in RAT ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
23 miles ( 37 km) NW of Amchitka
122 miles (196 km) ESE of Buldir Is
201 miles (323 km) W of Adak

March 9 at 00:37:18.517 UTC (March 8, 15:37:18.517 AKST), Ml 4.9, 55.59N -149.21W, depth=10.3 km:
A moderate earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
192 miles (309 km) SE of Old Harbor
194 miles (313 km) SE of Kodiak
204 miles (328 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 4 at 08:16:25.876 UTC (March 3, 23:16:25.876 AKST), Ml 4.7, 52.22N -170.47W, depth=25.6 km:
A light earthquake was located in FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
65 miles (105 km) E of Amukta Pass
84 miles (135 km) SW of Nikolski
158 miles (254 km) E of Atka

March 24 at 05:52:43.445 UTC (March 23, 21:52:43.445 AKDT), Ml 4.6, 56.11N -153.35W, depth=25.1 km:
A light earthquake was located in KODIAK ISLAND REGION, ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
65 miles (105 km) SSE of Akhiok
75 miles (121 km) S of Old Harbor
101 miles (163 km) SSE of Larsen Bay

March 26 at 18:01:09.706 UTC (March 26, 10:01:09.706 AKDT), Ml 4.5, 56.35N -148.44W, depth=10.0 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
179 miles (288 km) ESE of Kodiak
187 miles (301 km) SE of Ouzinkie
193 miles (311 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 8 at 03:10:38.354 UTC (March 7, 18:10:38.354 AKST), Ml 4.4, 51.02N -177.81W, depth=24.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
77 miles (124 km) SW of Adak
142 miles (229 km) ESE of Amchitka
175 miles (281 km) WSW of Atka

March 31 at 01:07:51.667 UTC (March 30, 17:07:51.667 AKDT), Ml 4.3, 56.02N -149.86W, depth=11.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
154 miles (248 km) ESE of Old Harbor
155 miles (250 km) SE of Kodiak
165 miles (265 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 8 at 04:08:12.099 UTC (March 7, 19:08:12.099 AKST), Ml 4.3, 55.79N -149.23W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
183 miles (294 km) SE of Kodiak
183 miles (295 km) ESE of Old Harbor
192 miles (309 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 13 at 00:59:31.476 UTC (March 12, 16:59:31.476 AKDT), Ml 4.3, 55.94N -149.87W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
157 miles (253 km) ESE of Old Harbor
160 miles (257 km) SE of Kodiak
169 miles (272 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 29 at 19:19:24.470 UTC (March 29, 11:19:24.470 AKDT), Ml 4.3, 56.51N -148.52W, depth=5.8 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
170 miles (274 km) ESE of Kodiak
178 miles (286 km) ESE of Ouzinkie
187 miles (301 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 13 at 03:22:25.102 UTC (March 12, 19:22:25.102 AKDT), Ml 4.2, 59.23N -151.98W, depth=50.8 km:
A light earthquake was located in KENAI PENINSULA, ALASKA. It was felt in Homer.
This earthquake was:
8 miles ( 13 km) SSW of Nanwalek
9 miles ( 14 km) SSW of English Bay
10 miles ( 16 km) SW of Port Graham

March 27 at 22:16:20.665 UTC (March 27, 14:16:20.665 AKDT), Ml 4.2, 56.49N -148.57W, depth=7.1 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
169 miles (273 km) ESE of Kodiak
177 miles (285 km) ESE of Ouzinkie
186 miles (299 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 11 at 17:44:37.649 UTC (March 11, 09:44:37.649 AKDT), Ml 4.2, 50.26N -177.40W, depth=2.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
116 miles (187 km) SSW of Adak
180 miles (289 km) ESE of Amchitka
192 miles (309 km) SW of Atka

March 8 at 21:48:01.189 UTC (March 8, 12:48:01.189 AKST), Ml 4.2, 55.58N -149.21W, depth=12.0 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
192 miles (309 km) SE of Old Harbor
195 miles (313 km) SE of Kodiak
204 miles (328 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 19 at 12:20:50.942 UTC (March 19, 04:20:50.942 AKDT), Ml 4.2, 51.99N 178.14W, depth=135.5 km:
A light earthquake was located in RAT ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
48 miles ( 78 km) NW of Amchitka
97 miles (156 km) ESE of Buldir Is
177 miles (285 km) ESE of Shemya

March 6 at 23:17:42.571 UTC (March 6, 14:17:42.571 AKST), Ml 4.1, 51.15N -178.45W, depth=27.2 km:
A light earthquake was located in ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS..
This earthquake was:
92 miles (148 km) WSW of Adak
113 miles (182 km) ESE of Amchitka
196 miles (315 km) WSW of Atka

March 4 at 00:20:40.849 UTC (March 3, 15:20:40.849 AKST), Ml 4.1, 56.35N -149.42W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
150 miles (241 km) SE of Kodiak
158 miles (255 km) ESE of Old Harbor
159 miles (255 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 22 at 17:38:15.726 UTC (March 22, 09:38:15.726 AKDT), Ml 4.1, 56.28N -148.61W, depth=11.8 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
177 miles (284 km) SE of Kodiak
185 miles (298 km) SE of Ouzinkie
189 miles (304 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 9 at 01:09:04.734 UTC (March 8, 16:09:04.734 AKST), Ml 4.1, 55.64N -149.23W, depth=7.4 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
189 miles (305 km) ESE of Old Harbor
191 miles (307 km) SE of Kodiak
200 miles (322 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 24 at 06:00:06.604 UTC (March 23, 22:00:06.604 AKDT), Ml 4.1, 56.14N -153.34W, depth=26.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in KODIAK ISLAND REGION, ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
64 miles (103 km) SSE of Akhiok
73 miles (118 km) S of Old Harbor
100 miles (160 km) SSE of Larsen Bay

March 11 at 11:43:18.845 UTC (March 11, 03:43:18.845 AKDT), Ml 4.1, 56.11N -149.21W, depth=11.1 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
167 miles (269 km) SE of Kodiak
173 miles (278 km) ESE of Old Harbor
176 miles (283 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 9 at 13:01:11.205 UTC (March 9, 04:01:11.205 AKST), Ml 4.0, 55.60N -149.19W, depth=11.9 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
192 miles (309 km) ESE of Old Harbor
194 miles (313 km) SE of Kodiak
204 miles (328 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 30 at 11:36:00.683 UTC (March 30, 03:36:00.683 AKDT), Ml 4.0, 61.55N -149.94W, depth=47.5 km:
A light earthquake was located in SOUTHERN ALASKA. It was felt throughout the Anchorage area.
This earthquake was:
14 miles ( 22 km) SSE of Willow
17 miles ( 27 km) W of Wasilla
19 miles ( 31 km) NW of Chugiak

March 29 at 19:48:33.717 UTC (March 29, 11:48:33.717 AKDT), Ml 4.0, 56.32N -148.57W, depth=6.6 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
176 miles (284 km) ESE of Kodiak
184 miles (297 km) SE of Ouzinkie
189 miles (305 km) ESE of Old Harbor

March 13 at 02:13:46.902 UTC (March 12, 18:13:46.902 AKDT), Ml 4.0, 55.96N -149.89W, depth=10.7 km:
A light earthquake was located in GULF OF ALASKA.
This earthquake was:
156 miles (250 km) ESE of Old Harbor
158 miles (254 km) SE of Kodiak
167 miles (269 km) SE of Ouzinkie

March 3 at 07:11:25.285 UTC (March 2, 22:11:25.285 AKST), Ml 4.0, 52.03N -169.23W, depth=6.3 km:
A light earthquake was located in FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS.
This earthquake was:
64 miles (103 km) SSW of Nikolski
119 miles (192 km) E of Amukta Pass
170 miles (273 km) SW of Unalaska

This report was compiled by M. Braun.

The data in this report are preliminary and subject to revision. Most of the earthquake parameters have been determined by the Alaska Earthquake Center, with supplemental data provided by the USGS National Earthquake Information Center, Box 25046, Denver Federal Center MS 967, Denver, CO 80225. The data are released on the condition that none of the cooperating agencies may be held liable for any damages resulting from its authorized or unauthorized use.

For more information on earthquakes and seismology, contact the AEC at (907)-474-7320.