WEEK SEISMICITY REPORT FOR NOVEMBER 7, 2022 TO NOVEMBER 13, 2022

During the week of November 7, 2022, the Alaska Earthquake Center reported 924 earthquakes within the state. The largest earthquake was a magnitude 4.7 event that occurred on November 13 at 00:20:48 AKST (November 13, 09:20:48 UTC), 56 miles S of Mt. Gareloi in the Andreanof Islands region of Aleutian Islands.

Other notable events include a M4.3 earthquake that occurred on November 11 at  00:19:49 AKST (09:19:49 UTC) and was located 32 miles NW of Talkeetna in central region of Alaska at a depth of 49.3 miles and a M3.9 earthquake that occurred on November 9 at 16:37:45 AKST (01:37:45 UTC) and was located 9 miles NW of Valdez in southern Alaska at a depth of 7.7 miles. Both earthquakes were felt widely in south-central Alaska communities.

We observed an increase in activity within the Purcell Mountains swarm region with over 50 events located during this week, ranging in magnitudes between 1.0 - 2.8 (most events occurred between November 8th and 10th).

There were 35 icequakes recorded in the southern and southeast Alaska including Prince William Sound, Ice Bay, and Yakutat regions. This activity is seasonal and is now at its lowest levels.

3 events were reported as felt with magnitudes ranging between 3.2-3.8

NOTABLE EVENTS IN DESCENDING ORDER OF MAGNITUDE


Magnitude 4.7, 56 miles S of Mt. Gareloi, November 13 00:20:48 AKST
Magnitude 4.6, 37 miles NW of Mt. Gareloi, November 8 05:38:46 AKST
Magnitude 4.5, 46 miles SE of Mt. Recheshnoi, November 7 15:00:23 AKST
Magnitude 4.3, 32 miles NW of Talkeetna, November 11 00:19:50 AKST
Magnitude 4.2, 34 miles S of Atka Pass, November 7 12:18:08 AKST
Magnitude 4.1, 32 miles S of Atka Pass, November 7 11:45:52 AKST
Magnitude 4.0, 41 miles S of Tanaga Volcano, November 9 07:57:13 AKST
Magnitude 3.9, 28 miles SW of Atka Pass, November 6 18:26:34 AKST
Magnitude 3.9, 19 miles NW of Valdez, November 9 16:37:45 AKST
Magnitude 3.9, 16 miles NE of Pilot Point, November 10 13:36:40 AKST

This report was compiled by Shah Khan

The data in this report are preliminary and subject to revision. The earthquake parameters have been determined by the AEC, with supplemental data provided by the USGS National Earthquake Information Center. The data are released on the condition that none of the cooperating agencies may be held liable for any damaged resulting from its authorized or unauthorized use.

For more information on earthquakes and seismology, contact the AEC at 907-474-7320.